Home
12767945_10205731170987350_1089878352_o

Prague Ghost Town: By Dina M. Saleh

Prague is a ghost town. Or at least that’s how it feels like to me. Sure, there are people everywhere, but none of them are actually present in the moment. People pass each other without ever noticing those who are around them.”Of course, people ignore each other everywhere in the world, but here it is different: there is an air of not being involved, not being present.” So much negativity and pessimism is projected from the walls that most Czechs build around themselves. I come from Jordan, a country where being welcoming and being friendly to every stranger that comes your way is a norm. This is why I felt the need to understand this national phenomena and the reason behind its existence.

Finally, after reading many articles and talking to some Czech citizens, I was able to understand the context of the situation. I learned that Czech Republic is a country that suffered a lot in the past. Occupation after occupation, Czechs have gone through an inconsiderable amount of pain and suffering. During the  Communism era, which dominated the land from 1945 until 1989, people were suffocating under big brother’s thumb. Czechs feared for their lives; they did not know who they can and cannot trust. And until this day, Czechs seem to have major trust issues. Actually, ” Sixty four percent of respondents to a Stem survey in 2008 said they didn’t trust their fellow citizens.

I empathize with Czechs. And although I believe that their reactions are understandable, they are still unfortunate and have adverse impacts on them. They are not only pushing themselves  further away from each other, but from the rest of the world as well. Human beings are social creatures. They cannot survive as independent individuals. This is why I wonder, for how long will they live as strangers in their own homeland? For how long will they remain distant and afraid of each other? Do they want to continue living in isolation from each other and the rest of the world?

While reading an article on BusinessCulture.Org titled Social media guide for Czech Republic it hit me, I found the answer. Now I am no expert, but just hear me out.  According to the article, the number of Czechs using different social media platforms has been increasing tremendously the past couple of years. “The number of registered Facebook users is 3,805,480, as of the 1st of November 2012, which is an increase of 194,480 in the last six months.” As for Linkedin “the number of registered users in the Czech Republic is around 213,600.” Twitter is not as popular but the article indicates that the number of users has been increasing.

8583949219_d565d18edf_o

Image by Jason Howie

Social Media is a form of communication. Czechs’ use of it can only mean one thing; they want to communicate with other people. Regardless whether they want to get in contact with people from the Czech Republic or somewhere else, they are still communicating. On some level, they do not want to be isolated. Even though their walls are built high in the real world, they are torn down online. Whether they want to make friends or maintain contact with friends and/or family on Facebook, find jobs and impress employers on Linkedin, or voice out their thoughts and opinions on Twitter, they are still reaching out. They are building interpersonal relationships that may vary in strength (Bonding or Breaching).

Their increase use of social media platforms could also show that their trust is being restored in the people surrounding them. I would say that because some users online are not who they say  they are. I would like to think that they are taking a leap of faith by using these platforms. Yes, they might be more aware of their actions online since they have an audience that they are communicating with. However, they do not control these actions since the norms and values which exist in the physical space of Prague are not recognizable online (Social context collapsed). So they are not obliged to be cold and distant online.

Personally, I never thought I would talk and act the way I do now before I started using the social media platforms that I use. A friend would see a post that I made online, and would come talk to me about it the next day. Being able to express myself freely online helped me become more open with the people around me. Czechs may not be as friendly and open in the physical world as they are beginning to be online. But at least they are bringing their walls down even if its online. Step by step, brick by brick, they’ll get there.

Featured Image: Prague Castle By Dina M. Saleh

 

2 thoughts on “Can Social Media Destroy Czech Citizens’ Trust Issues?

  1. Hey Dina! I really like the relevance of your post. When I am away from tourist areas in Prague, I agree that it can feel like a ghost town. Yet I do not think Czechs are “obliged” to be cold and distant in person, which seems to be what you are claiming. It may just be a cultural divide where what seems friendly and normal to you is not the same thing to them. I also think it is hard for us as students who have been living here less than 2 months to really understand what the Czech Republic has been through in recent history that may make them wary of being too friendly and trusting.I do think it is really interesting that the use of a lot of social media sites has jumped in the Czech Republic in the past fews years, but will the want to socialize online ever translate into more friendly human interaction with strangers? I think it has to be taken into account that perhaps they are using these sites to maintain contact with family and friends they already talk to in person. They may not want to use it as a way to meet new people and socialize with them. It would be interesting to see a study about the ways in which the social media platforms you mentioned are mostly used in the Czech Republic!

  2. Hi! I love how you wrote about the coldness of the Czech people; they have the potential to change their disposition. Your article really made me wonder if social media is truly effecting them in this way, and beyond that, if it has the same effect on everyone around the world with access to it. Personally, I don’t think that social media made my personality any more outgoing than I was before I was on the sites that I was. However, I can 100% see how it could be a great conversation starter for people that have a harder time socializing and making new friends in some social settings. I’m very interested to see if in the long run, the continued increase in the use of social media has a significant difference.

Leave a Reply

