Home

“Wow you were at the Eiffel Tower? And Big Ben? And the Taj Mahal? WHO CARES.”

According to a recent Entrepreneur article focusing on social media, it is perhaps better to not share your exclusive yet thrilling experiences on social media outlets. Relying on a study from Psychological Science, the author suggests that in retrospect people tend to really value and appreciate communal experiences, not singular ones.

The study, which such is based upon, showcased how one person’s great experience of watching a highly rated movie soon became overpowered when matched with three people’s bad experience of watching a lowly rated movie. This was so because the individual who saw the good movie could not share his experience with the others, and thus while he had a great time in the moment, afterwards it went downhill due to his inability to connect with the others. Such a concept was then applied to social media use, suggesting that people should refrain from posting flashy pictures and statuses of themselves in an exclusive experience, because later down the road it will all backfire when they realize they cannot relive that experience with others.

Speaking from my own experiences, I definitely agree with the results and findings of this study. When people do things together, it adds a dimension that truly allows for a bonding experience. Most times it isn’t where you are or what you are doing, but rather who you are doing things with.

Just recently I had my fall break where we traveled to various cities all across Europe.While the cities we went to were grandeur and amazing, I definitely do not think I would have had anywhere near the same amount of fun I had if my friends were not with me all throughout the trip. In several instances we didn’t follow any tour guides or maps. We just walked in random directions, knowing that as long as we were together, talking and bonding, and genuinely having a good time with each other without implications of social media, our trip would be a success.

Barcelona

Image Courtesy of Flickr User Bert Kaufmann

And of course while I did post photos and statuses on Facebook and Instagram all along my break to document where I was on what date, evoking comments chockfull of jealousy from my friends back home in America, I did not for a second feel sad or regretful afterwards, because all of my experiences were communal—not singular. I was always with the people I valued most, and that’s why every experience—big or small—felt sensational. And the best part is that even months and years down the road, I know I will be able to relive the experiences I had with all of my friends, and rejoice over the pictures we took and memories we shared.

It’s about who you’re with, much more than what you are doing.

Additional Related Readings:

Study: Emotions on Facebook Are Contagious

http://www.usatoday.com/experience/weekend/lifestyle/your-digital-life-are-you-oversharing-vacation-pics/12189701/

Featured Image Courtesy of Flickr User Problemkind

Leave a Reply

