Home

What’s the difference between uploading a picture at 7am and 7pm? Well, turns out there is one!

Before I came abroad I didn’t really pay attention to the time in which I decided to post on Facebook or upload to Instagram. However, ever since being away I noticed that I now make a conscious effort to pick the perfect time to post on my social media profiles. While in Europe, I wait until the late afternoon, so that people in America will be awake for when I post on Facebook or on Instagram. I sometimes go as far as to calculate when most people will be out of class, so I can find the best time to click the “share” or “upload” button. I figure that if I post when my friends are awake and actively looking at their phone this will by default get me the most “likes” or responses.

At first, I thought it was a little crazy to think that I actually cared that much about when to upload to my social media profiles. Turns out, I’m not the only one that cares about the timing of a post. There are actual statistics that prove there are optimal times to post to social media sites. Research conducted by Belle Beth Cooper provides information as to when the best times are to post on some of the most popular social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter.

According to Cooper, Facebook engagement rates are 18% higher on Thursdays and Fridays and engagement rates are lowest on Monday through Wednesday. She states that a possible explanation for this could be that towards the end of the week, the less people want to be at work and thus the more they are on Facebook. As far as timing goes, statistics vary from the best times being at 1pm and at 3pm. Although, the broader suggested time is between 9am and 7pm. This implies that before work and after dinner will yield the lowest amount of responses. While these are helpful statistics, it must vary between age group. For my age, posting any earlier than 11am will probably result in a very low number of responses; whereas, for older people, posting before 11am may be optimal.

2531159232_0306fd7b48

Image Courtesy of Flickr user GreenDot Interactive

            For Twitter, Cooper found that engagement for brands is 17% higher on weekdays. Research explains that retweets are highest around 5pm whereas click-throughs are most popular around noon and 6pm. A possible explanation for this could be because people are on their lunch breaks around noon or looking for entertainment on their commute home from work around 6pm. To further support this evidence, Twitter conducted a study showing that people are 181% more likely to be on Twitter during their commute.

 3329194516_2a13c84bfc

 Image Courtesy of Flickr user tiago_custodio

            After reading this article, I feel a little less obsessive about when to post on my social media profiles. It makes sense that these times are the most optimal. It’s a rewarding feeling to get a high number of responses, so why wouldn’t people strive to post at them.

Featured Image Courtesy of Flickr user mao_lini

Leave a Reply

